Sign In

DeWitt County Students Benefit From Educational Scholarships

Exelon/Clinton Power Station Support Student Futures



Clinton, Ill.  - Congratulations to Nick Builta of Blue Ridge High School, Brielle Jones and Tyler Yokley of Deland-Weldon High School and Larae Wertz and Amanda Ranney of Clinton Community High School who were each recognized by Exelon's Clinton Power Station for their scholarship and their help within the community.

"This is one way we can help in the community and, perhaps, help the station," said Keith Taber, Clinton Power Station plant manager. "Investing in our youth promotes higher education that might one day come back to us as part of our future workforce."

These deserving DeWitt County high school graduates were hand selected by their high school committee.

Scholarship recipients must be graduating seniors with between a 2.5 and 4.0 scale, or equivalent grade point average (GPA) and plan to attend a recognized and accredited trade school, junior college, college, or university. Scholarship criteria also include applicant leadership attributes and extracurricular activities.

Clinton Power Station's 2011 educational scholarships totaled $5,000 for 2011.